Your Wedding: A dream or a play?

Today I was thinking about marriage. And not in the way most women do. Instead of thinking about my future wedding colors and mason jars with flowers, I found myself truly wondering “why, why do people get married..?’

As a child I grew up seeing my parents continuously struggle through their marriage and give up on each other various times. I grew up going to church and having it drilled into my brain that it is better to get married young and save yourself for marriage, than to live with that person before marriage.

At first I struggled between the two options.

Do people really get married to have sex? It sounded simply ridiculous… Did people really get married because they thought that it was what they were supposed to be doing? Why, why do people get married?

I try to not be a cynic about things that are supposed to be as lovely as marriage, but aren’t weddings really just a play? An act where everybody is dressed up in specific outfits, with specific lines, making it up to be a facade most of us should dread..but we don’t….because the marriage is going to be beautiful..

Is it?

Tell me thoughts on your marriage, or your views on what your future marriage looks like.

20140225-135906.jpg

One thought on “Your Wedding: A dream or a play?

  1. Pingback: First 5-Years: Our Learning Curve | Mrs. Wife

Leave a Reply

